the repatriation of onebluegreen

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

black skin spot on breast

Today's visit to my derm left me with a scraped and still bleeding eight hour after the fact spot of the top of my right breast. Derms biopsy potentially cancer0us spots by freezing them and then slicing/hacking into the frozen spot. The whole process took a few seconds and was concluded with "I hope you can live with a scar. Remember it is much better than having melanoma."

Obviously a true statement because who would pick sk1n cancer?

I was also told that because I am single I am at a disadvantage b/c it is going to be difficult, nay impossible, for me to check all of my skin but he was sure I had family or friends who would help.

This is true only if the relationship me is with someone who understands the importance of keeping an eye on my skin and IS willing to help. My long-term college boyfriend who once broke up with him would do anything to keep me including getting out of the military but yet when we were dating and he knew how many precancerous moles I had removed couldn't manage to cover my back with suntan lotion so I ended up with a severe finger streaked burn. That would be an instance where I might have a sense of false security and in fact be at a severe skin checking disadvantage.

I didn't dislike the derm but I don't think I liked him either. He seemed to have preformed opinions and wasn't taking in information I said like my Dad had acne as a kid, he was given a rad1ati0n drip in the service which cleared up his skin but years later he developed skin cancer. It was his doctor's opinion that was the likely cause. My derm said "Um huh, it had nothing to do with being in the Navy" And later he referred to the radiation drip as an x-ray. ????

He also said "Apparently you've spent most of your life here and the sun here isn't that strong so your skin condition must be heriditary." I was lying right there, why no ask me. The answer is I have lived here for years but we moved every three years when I was a kid so I have lived in other states.

Gosh, I am not sounding like I like or trust him very much.

Next week I will get my biopsy results. If it is cancerous then I don't know what I'll do. I guess I would have to continue treatment with him but if I have to have surgery I am not going to automatically pick the guy he said he always work with.

If it isn't cancerous because I might have to pick another derm. I think I might even pay out of pocket to see a cosmetic doctor who is one of my former student's boss. He was an internist before he switched and he does a lot of pigment removal. I met him and I liked him.

As for my breast cyst I am not sure what I am going to do. The derm seem to think I had skin cancer and that I was going to be going to the guy he works with who could also remove my cyst at the same time. (It is deep and I don't know if you squeezed it or not -- I didn't but I wasn't ever asked or given a chance to respond -- but it is going to cause scarring.)

I need to think.

7:34 p.m. - 2009-01-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous | next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random