the repatriation of onebluegreen

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Anni

We (that would be me and Tigger) lost power and phone at Jurassic House but it wasn't a big deal. There was a tree down on the road on the way home -- we all just drove in the grass on the shoulder and kept going. I have much debris to pick up in the yard before I mow again. Our area was at the tail end of the winds. Thanks Pirate Strangerlucy for asking.

The other day I received an email from an unfamiliar name. That is not unusual but this one had nothing to do with making my penis 1"-3" larger and the first name attached to the email is unusual. The last name I did not recognize but just in case it was someone from my childhood I opened it (because of my Dad's job we moved every three years). This is the first paragraph of the email

Wow, I saw your name at the top on one of As' e-mails and I couldn't believe it! It's been so long since I've seen you. What 20 years? I can still remember you and Angie walking up the hill in your newly sewn Bay City Roller pants with the plaid stripes going down the legs! For those of you who don't know what she means by this check out the picture with the red background .

My bestfriend A loved the Bay City Rollers so I was a fan too. She had an outfit (all good fans did -- we were part of what I now gather from the internet was called the Tartan Army) and I had my Mom make me one too. My outfit consisted of a plaid shirt, short jeans (mine had two zippers -- one up each hip bone) with a big wide swatch of plaid sewn around the bottom. This was worn with brightly colored stripe socks. (Hey! It was the 70s and we were kids). A's outfit had the plaid running down the side of the pants and she had rainbow suspenders.

The particular moment she is referring to is right after my Mom finished making my outfit we walked from my house to A's house in full gear. We were so proud of our outfits. We walked past this girl's house. She and her brother were on the porch but A and I didn't notice because we were so busy chattering about our outfits. The 16 year old brother saw the 11 year old me and the 12 year old A and laughed so hard that he fell off the porch swing.

About a year or so later (when I was 12) my parents divorced. My Mom and I moved to the West Coast. A and this girl became really good friends. I haven't spoken to the other girl in probably 20 years. I cannot believe that anything in my life has been that long that I can say 20 years. A is always sending forwards. I am not a forward person but in this case this girl saw my name and email from the top of A's forward. Maybe forward's have a purpose afterall. I am glad she wrote and plan to write her back this weekend.

Today I signed up for private metalsmithing lessons. No, I don't really have the time or money for this activity but I have wanted to learn metalsmith for a long long time. There are no metalsmithing classes taught in our city but there is a woman whose studio is on the floor above mine who makes beautiful jewelry and she teaches private lessons from time-to-time. I think Wild Yarn is going to take them also (the teacher can handle two students at a time in her studio). I start mid-October. Like the upholstering class Mom and I took I might find I hate it. That is okay too. An expensive lesson perhaps but an acceptable outcome. What worries me is that I am going to love it and then I will have an even more expensive art habit.

One year ago today I started Onebluegreen. At the same time I also started a Blog. I'd been looking at having a diary since January. Then I decided not to. But late summer/early fall Jonzo had started his and I decided to jump in with both feet. Part of my rationale was to channel some of my online energy from R. You know how much I write here imagine what I am like when I am physically and emotionally attracted to you. The poor blog has been a little neglected. Originally it looked like it would be the diary that would fall by the wayside.

One year later I don't know that I have a better understanding of why I write here or what it means that most of my writing is online and paper journaling. I don't know why I felt I need repatriating but I think I am searching for like minds. A country for my soul. I feel like I am part of a community that I care about. I check my buddy list before I check my stats. I check my stats to see where people have come from -- how they find this page.

If only I could find a good way to get rid of yard moles (my number one hit) I would be rich.

I just looked up my first entry and the date is September 16 not 19. Whoops. I guess I need to apologize to the write in me for missing the big date. It has been a year and three days.

7:16 p.m. - 2003-09-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous | next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random